Top Five Favorite Foods I Make

I like to eat.  But not everything.  I am a picky eater.  When I go out, I have to know what is in the meals.  I hate mushrooms, fish, seafood, exotic meats (hee-hee), sauces, avocado, eggs, anything that smells weird, anything that looks “squishy”; yeah I know I’m impossible to take out for a meal.  That is why once I find a restaurant that I like, I stick to it. My mom would sneak mushroom soup into everything, and I hated it.  I hated Christmas when she would make her clam chowder.  For the longest time I wouldn’t eat meatballs because she would cook them in a red sauce.  Speaking of sauce, my pasta only had butter on it.  I’m better now as an adult.

The nice thing is that I love to cook.  I get to have control over what I eat and if I’m ready to experiment, I’m in control. I’m going to share with you my five favorite recipes I have perfected over the years.  I don’t use much measuring on these any more, so I will try to be as accurate as I can.

Chicken Stir Fry

Ingredients:

2 packages Yakisoba Noodles

2 chicken breast

2 tsp lemon pepper

3 Tbs chopped garlic

Olive oil (to fry in)

1 cup chicken broth

a variety of veggies. I like to use red or orange peppers, broccoli, celery, green onions, carrots, and cilantro. It comes to about 4 cups chopped total.

Crunchy Chow Mein Noodles

Soy Sauce to taste

I cook this on medium to medium high heat.  (be aware that this recipe uses a lot of bowls)

Cut chicken into bite sized pieces and cook in wok or large frying pan with the oil.  Season the chicken with the lemon pepper while it is cooking.  Add the garlic once the chicken in completely cooked. Transfer the chicken/garlic mix to a bowl.

Add veggies to the wok or large frying pan, add more oil if needed.  Stir and cover.  Let cook for about 4 minutes or until veggies are tender to your liking.

While the veggies and chicken are cooking, you have things to do! Rinse the Yakisoba noodles and keep the seasoning packets that come with it.  I usually rinse them in a colander and break them apart with my fingers. Add the seasoning packets to the cup of chicken broth, stir well.

Okay, the veggies should be done to your liking.  Pour them into a bowl, add a little more oil to the pan and add the noodles.  Stir these around until they are warm and crispy in parts.  Remove.

Add the broth to the pan. Stir until bubbly.  Add the chicken and coat it with the sauce.  Add the veggies and coat again.  Finally, add the noodles.  Stir thoroughly. Cover and cook for about 3 minutes.

Dish yourself up a bowl, sprinkle with crunchy noodles and soy sauce.  Enjoy!  This recipe makes enough for a large family or a week full of lunches to bring to work.

Mac and Cheese

I cheat with my mac and cheese.  I use Velveeta.  All because I have to agree with the old commercials, Velveeta melts much better.

Ingredients:

One package of elbow macaroni

One 8 oz box of Velveeta

1/4 cup butter

1/2 cup milk (I use 2%)

Ketchup (because I like to put ketchup on my mac and cheese)

Boil the noodles to package directions, drain and return to stove top.  Turn heat to medium low.  Add the milk, butter and mix until melted.  Add the Velveeta and stir forever until it is melted and well-combined.

Dish into a bowl, top with ketchup and enjoy!

Margarita Pizza

Ingredients:

1 thin crust Boboli Crust

Salt and Pepper to taste

3-4 Tbs olive oil

3-4 Tbs chopped garlic

2-3 sliced Roma tomatoes

Fresh mozzarella sliced

Fresh basil, chopped

Preheat oven according to crust package. Place crust on pizza pan.

Sauce the crust with the olive oil and sprinkle it with the garlic.  Salt and Pepper the crust.  I usually add more pepper than salt.

Lay the mozzarella slices around the pizza crust.  Layer the sliced tomatoes on top. Bake in the oven, usually about 7-8 minutes. Adjust the temperature to broil and bake another 1-2 minutes or until cheese and toms are browned.

While the pizza is cooking, rinse and dry the basil and chop it.  I usually use my cooking scissors.

Sprinkle the basil on the pizza, cut and serve. Enjoy!

Three Cheese Potato Pie

This is a very filling meal.  You can add broccoli or bacon bits to it, but it is tasty on its own. I usually have it with a side salad.

3 cups of Mashed Potatoes

1 bag of Cheddar Cheese

1 Bag of Mozzarella Cheese

1 Bag of Swiss Cheese

3 eggs

1 cup of sour cream

salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

Combine mashed potatoes, the three bags of cheese, eggs and sour cream. stir thoroughly.  I usually add the eggs and sour cream to my potatoes after I got done mashing them with my mixer.  It makes it easier.  I then remove the bowl from the mixer and add the cheeses by hand.  Salt and pepper to taste. (you can add bacon or broccoli at this time)

Pour the batter into a well greased baking pan. Bake at 350 degrees until a nice brown crust forms on top. (about 45-60 minutes)

Be careful, it will be hot.  This meal reheats well. Enjoy!

Crock-pot Chili

1 package ground beef, cooked

1 can tomatoes (14 oz)

1 can tomato sauce (29 oz)

1 green pepper chopped

1 yellow onion chopped

1 package chili seasoning

3 TBS chili powder

2 Tbs black pepper

3 Tbs garlic powder

2 cans red kidney beans, drained (15 oz each)

Cheddar Cheese

Saltines

In a crock-pot add the beef, beans, pepper, onion, tomatoes, sauce, seasoning and spices. Stir and cover.  Set crock-pot on high for four hours.  Sit back and enjoy the smell.

Once done, spoon into bowl, sprinkle with cheddar cheese and serve with saltines.  Enjoy!

This is one of my favorite things to make because it reminds me of my mom.  When she came out and visited us once, I made this.  She couldn’t get enough of it.  It was one of the nicest things she had ever said to me.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

