Top Five Movie Soundtracks

This top five list I have been kicking around in my head for a bit.  I have seen hundreds of movies and purchased many soundtracks.  I think the music that plays during a movie is an important part.  It helps set the tone and emotion of the scene.  It can also let you know who that character is…or what kind of movie you are getting into. This post is going to be about movies that do not have an original score. I will be posting soon on that topic.  This will also focus on the songs that are only available on the soundtrack, and not on all the songs heard during the flick. So here they are in no particular order.

Easy A (2010)

This soundtrack is a spunky, upbeat mix of familiar and not-so-familiar songs.  It also has a fantastic cover of “Don’t You (Forget About Me)” by Simple Minds.

The main character, Olive, references John Hughes’ movies and their impact on her. The music chosen for this movie gives it that John Hughes vibe.

My favorite song from this album is “15 Minutes” by The Yeah You’s but the whole album is amazing.

New Moon (2009)

Stephenie Meyers likes to have music playing while she writes. I would like to think that this album was playing when she wrote the book New Moon. It was put together nicely.  I actually enjoyed the album more than the movie. It introduced me to some new artists as well as shown me some music from familiar artists that I hadn’t heard yet.

I have a tie for favorite song on this album.  It is between “Shooting the Moon” by OK Go and “Possibility” by Lykke Li.

Footloose (1984)

The remake sucked.  There. I said it.  I did not like how they countrified a classic and they destroyed the amazing music that reflected the 80’s so nicely.

Now that I’m done ranting, let’s talk about the music that was banned in a small town in Oklahoma. I admit, I had all of the dance moves memorized and could perform them along with the soundtrack (but not well). I still find myself dancing along whenever I hear Kenny Loggins having to cut loose.

These songs are a great representation of the type of music we listened to then.  (Yes, I’m that old) My favorite song from the album is not “Footloose”.  It’s actually “Let’s Hear It For The Boy” by Deniece Williams.  It’s actually my favorite part in the movie.  It’s where Willard (played by Chris Penn, RIP)  is learning how to dance. (Napoleon Dynamite does a pretty good job of copying it)

Guardians of the Galaxy (2014)

I have to thank whoever put together this soundtrack.  They did an amazing job of exposing people to a few classics.  There are even songs on here that I hadn’t heard in years.

I heard the soundtrack weeks before I saw the movie.  I even attended a lazer light show at the Pacific Science Center set to the soundtrack. I knew the movie was going to rock, just from listening to the music.  And I was right!

My favorite song is “Spirit in the Sky” by Norman Greenbaum.  I am not a spiritual person, but I would like to have this song played at my funeral.  It is so damn catchy.  It just makes me want to get up and dance.  Okay it’s official.  This song will be played at my funeral….you got that hubby?  Take note.  🙂

Trainspotting (1996)

This is a fucked up movie.  One of my favorite Ewan McGregor movies (Big Fish is another). I am waiting to see Trainspotting 2, it only ended up hitting one theater here in the Seattle area. Any soundtrack that involves Iggy Pop is a must.

The music on this album sets the scene for the mayhem that takes place in the movie.  If you haven’t seen it, you are missing out.  It is about Renton who is a heroin addict. He sees that his life is going down the toilet, and he struggles to get clean while his friends and life around him are still getting high.

My favorite song is “Lust For Life” by Iggy Pop.  (Are You Going To Be My Girl by Jet sounds a lot like it, I bet the two songs would make a great mashup)

What is your favorite soundtrack?

Leave a Reply

