Even More Top Five Forgotten Songs From My Youth

Here I am at it again. I came across some more songs that I remember listening to when I was just an innocent teen. Yeah, we all know that I wasn’t that innocent.

So here they are in no particular order.

What I Got by Sublime (1995)

Heroine is a horrible drug. Bradley Nowell overdosed in 1996. Sublime may not have been as famous as they wanted to be, but they did have an important part in my teen years.  I have seen Long Beach Dub Allstars, which were Sublime, and I have heard Sublime with Rome.  But it’s not the same.  There was something in Bradley’s voice that spoke to me.  Too many artists struggle with addiction.

Giving Him Something He Can Feel by En Vogue (1992)

Yes I know this is a cover.  It is a damn good cover.  I loved this song.  I thought these girls were so sexy.  I wanted to be as sexy as them.  I even learned their dance and (eventually) owned a sexy red dress.  I never did perform this song for anyone, and there is no way I would do it now.  But I still think they are very sexy, and they keep their clothes on!

1934073_1173212765394_5828421_n Yes, this is me.  I was probably 16 or 17.

What About Your Friends by TLC (1992)

Do you remember singles?  I purchased this cassette single from Sunshine Tapes and CD’s in Kalispell Center Mall. I felt so rebellious.  I played this song over and over.  I still remember some of the lyrics. Did people really wear condoms secured to their clothes as an accessory?  That trend never made it to my small town.

Livin’ The Vida Loca by Ricky Martin (1999)

Every girl had a crush on Ricky.  But most of us weren’t surprised to learn that he was gay. It’s always the cute ones. This song still makes me want to get up and dance.  It even has a brass section!

Smells Like Teen Spirit by Nirvana (1991)

Thank God for Nirvana!  If it wasn’t for grunge, I wouldn’t be the woman I am today.  Growing up in a small hick town, my music was very limited.  I had MTV as my only resource.  They changed me.  I fully embraced the ratty jeans, baggy shirts and flannel.  I still embrace the ratty jeans, baggy shirts and flannel.  I heart me Nirvana!

Maybe I should cosplay as one of the cheerleaders featured in the video. Hmmm….

 

Honorable Mention

Burden In My Hand by Soundgarden (1996)

 

GRUNGE!  That is all!

 

 

Leave a Reply

