Five More Forgotten Songs From My Youth

The other day I sat down and made a list of songs that I remember dancing to at my High School dances. (I went to every one, this girl loves to dance) I made this list instead of doing laundry, so it was well worth it. So for your listening pleasure, I give you five more forgotten songs from my youth.

Tubthumper by Chumbawamba (1997)

This one actually came out after I graduated from High School, but I clearly remember bouncing around at Pizza Hut while working to this song.  Besides having a catchy tune, it has an interesting message about keeping at life and having fun. It’s also one of those songs that get stuck in your head.

 

Shake Hands With Beef by Primus (1997)

 

Here is another one from 1997.  I stumbled across Primus on MTV.  Les Claypool and his bass talents blew me away.  I was fortunate enough to get to see them with Blink 182, Aquabats, and Long Beach Dub Allstars.  (My first real rock concert)

Mmmmm Mmmmm Mmmmm Mmmmm by Crash Test Dummies (1993)

 

My favorite thing about this song is the title.  It is almost as if they couldn’t think of a title and went with whatever the drummer could think of.  I also like the story it tells. Brad Roberts has such a rich baritone voice, he should read books on tape.

Pepper by Butthole Surfers (1996)

 

I use to think this song was about the Charles Manson murders.  Mostly because I just got done reading Helter Skelter and I was young and dumb.  It’s actually about Gibby Haynes youth during the Texas Punk scene.  Not as cool as I thought.  I do remember stumbling across someone saying that the lyrics were about heroin addiction.  But then, what isn’t?

Zoot Suit Riot by Cherry Poppin’ Daddies (1997)

 

If the song has a brass band playing in it, I melt.  I think the sound of trumpets and trombones improve most anything. I love the Big Band sound.  I wish I learned to play the trumpet instead of the flute.  Someday I will learn how to dance to this song, until then it will be open to interpretation.

Honorable Mention

Hell by Squirrel Nut Zippers (1996) 

 

Another song with brass instruments.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

