Top Five Favorite Movies

Besides being a big reader, I enjoy a good movie.  I guess I am eccentric in my tastes since there is no one genre I prefer. I have seen many movies at the theater and even more at home thanks to Netflix and Redbox.  My dream is to put in a theater in my own home so I can experience them as they are meant to be seen.

Here are my top five favorite movies in no particular order.

Singin’ In The Rain (Gene Kelly, Donald O’Connor, Debbie Reynolds) 1952

This movie recently celebrated its 65th anniversary.  I have had the privilege to have seen it on the big screen as well as at our local outdoor theater.

Watching Gene Kelly dance, Donald O’Connor be silly and Debbie Reynolds sing always makes me smile.

I catch myself singing along to all the songs and wanting to dance along with them.

I really wish the art of musicals didn’t go out of style.

The Chronicles Of Riddik (Vin Diesel) 2004

I admit it.  I find Vin Diesel sexy.  I think it is because he is a geek at heart.

The Chronicles of Riddik is the unofficial sequel to Pitch Black (2000). Quick summary of Pitch Black: A transport ship crash lands on an unknown planet infested with night dwelling creatures.  Riddik is a prisoner on this ship, but he is the only one that can save the survivors of the crash.

In Chronicles of Riddik, we find that he has been hunted by bounty hunters and has been captured.  He is able to escape the prison and get aid on a planet where and old friend lives. But sadly this planet is being taken over by a dark cult who call themselves Necromongers.  Riddik is prophesied to defeat this evil.

It is a very good sci-fi flick with lots of hand to hand combat and explosions.

Die Hard (Bruce Willis) 1988

A classmate wrote an amazing paper on this movie comparing it to the political situation a that time.  Me? It’s just my favorite Christmas movie.

You have John Mclane, the all American hero, who happens to be in the right place at the wrong time.  John, being a cop, knows that he has to save the people being held hostage, but he is going to do it bad ass, shoe-less, sarcastic, and brutal.

This movie is best summed up by one quote:

Yippee-kay-yay Motherfucker!

The Sum of All Fears (Ben Affleck) 2002

I don’t know if you are familiar with the Jack Ryan movies. (and books, too) They are based on one character who has to save the world because of politics gone bad.

The Sum of All Fears is about Russia and Americas put to war against each other, but they were set up.  Jack Ryan has to save the day.

I watch this move on New Year Eve every year.  I have no idea why, I’m kookie that way.

Keeping Mum (Rowan Atkinson, Maggie Smith, Kristin Scott Thomas) 2005

A home falling apart. A daughter who is rebelling, a son who is being bullied, a wife considering an affair, and a husband more devoted to his church than to his family.  All they need is someone to bring them back together.

Enter Grace.  She is perfect.  She sees this family falling apart and she fixes the issues…with murder. But don’t get her wrong.  She does it all out of love.

This is a dark comedy with a tiny twist ending.

Honorable Mention:

Mulan (Ming-Na Wen, Eddie Murphy) 1998

You can’t beat a flick about a girl who kicks ass. And not for love, but for honor and her family.

 

2 thoughts on “Top Five Favorite Movies

Leave a Reply

